Vilangara    St. Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. Samuel   Thonduparambil

Ecl Dist : AYOOR

Estd Year :1962

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Kakkathanam, Vilangara P.O., Kottarakkara, Kollam Dt. 691 531


Holy Mass timings                                          : Sunday          : 6.30 am

                                                                          Friday            : 6.00 pm

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Novena          : 6.00 pm

Year of Establishment                                    : 1962

Landed properties – Area                               : 100 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Convent

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Shrine

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Rev. Fr. John Areekal

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Rev. Sr. Mary George  DM

                                                                          Rev. Sr. Vimal George DM

                                                                          Rev. Sr. Sheena John DM

History and Development

St. Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Vilangara in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Ayoor.  The first community of this parish was formed in 1962.This Parish was established in 1987 during the time of Rev. Fr. Mathew Kalayil. It was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios in 1988. In 2012 it celebrated the Golden Jubilee and blessed by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis.  

Former Vicars

1962 -           Rev. Fr. Joseph  Thachettu                                        

1968             Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Plaparapadickal                      

1971             Rev. Fr. Koshi Chakkalamannil                                 

1977             Rev. Fr. Louise Philippose                                         

                     Rev. Fr. Mathew Kalayil                               

                     Rev. Fr. Jose  Kadakampallil                         

1995             Rev. Fr. Geevarghese  Kallittayil                               

2001             Rev. Fr. Alex  Kalappila                                           

2004             Rev. Fr. James  Charuvila                                          

2005             Rev. Fr. Antony  Plaparambil                                    

2008             Rev. Fr. Samuel  Thoppil                                           

2009             Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Maniparampil                          

2013              Rev. Fr. Xavier  Konnathuvila                                   

2017-2019     Rev. Fr. John  Kallumpurathu                                    

2019-2020      Rev. Fr. George Bhattasserril   

2020 - 2023    Rev. Fr. Edison   Pallivadakkethil


More Photos