Ampalakkara    St. Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. George   THANNIMOOTIL

Ecl Dist : AYOOR

Estd Year :1955

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Ampalakara P.O., Kottarakara, Kollam Dt.- 691557


Holy Mass timings                                          : Sunday          : 10.30 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Friday            : 10.00 am

                                                                          Sunday          : 4.00 pm

Year of Establishment                                    : 1955


Landed properties – Area                               : 85 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Shrine -2

                                                                          St. Mary’s Grotto

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Rev. Fr. George Kurakkode

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Rev. Sr. Sameepya SIC


History and Development

St. Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Ambalakkara in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Ayoor.  The first community of this parish was formed in 1955. This Parish was established on September 8, 1969 during the time of Rev. Fr. Louis Philipose. It was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. The church was renovated during the time of Rev. Fr. Samuel Thoppil on February 2, 2008 and blessed by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis.


Former Vicars

  1. Rev. Fr. Samuel  Thenguvila                    
  2. Rev. Fr. Jacob  Njayalloor                                   
  3. Rev. Fr. Oommen  Ayyaneth                   
  4. Rev. Fr. Zacharias  Kaleeleth                   
  5. Rev. Fr. Joseph  Vazhappilleth
  6. Rev. Fr. George  Mutheril
  7. Rev. Fr. Joseph     Kaippallil
  8. Rev. Fr. Thomas  Valiyavilayil
  9. Rev. Fr. Louis  Philipose Kochumuriyil
  10. Rev. Fr. Mathew  Madappallill          
  11. Rev. Fr. Y. Joseph     
  12. Rev. Fr. Mathew  Kalayil      
  13. Rev. Fr. Santhan  Charuvil    
  14. Rev. Fr. John   Nedumcheril  
  15. Rev. Fr. Scariah  Kochumuruppel      
  16. Rev. Fr. Geevarghese  Kallittayil
  17. Rev. Fr. Emmanuel  Bunglavil
  18. Rev. Fr. James  Elanjickal
  19. Rev. Fr. John  Kizhakkekkara
  20. Rev. Fr. Geevarghese  Charuvilayil
  21. Rev. Fr. Albert Vadakkemuriyil
  22. Rev. Fr. Sheen Thankalayam
  23. Rev. Fr. Johnson Puthuparambil
  24. Rev. Fr. Jose Prasad Valuparambil
  25. Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Maniparambil
  26. Rev. Fr. George Thannimoottil
  27. Rev. Fr. Paul Vilayil Puthenveettil

More Photos