Chirackal (Channankara)    St Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Dr. Varghese   THANNIKKAKUZHY


Estd Year :1958

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Chittattumukku P.O, Chirackal, Kaniyapuram, Trivandrum Dt.-695301


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          : 7.00 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Rosary           : 6.00 pm


Year of Establishment                                    : 1958

Landed properties – Area                               : 65 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Shrine

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Nil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil


History and Development

St.Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Chirackal(Channankara) in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Kazhakoottam. The First community of this Parish was formed in 1958. This Parish was established in 1958 and Rt. Rev. Lawrence Thottam was the First Vicar. A new church was built during the time of Rt.Rev.Thomas Ponvelil in 1961 and blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios.

Former Vicars

  1. Rev. Fr. Lawrence Thottam (Lawrence Mar Apream)
  2. Rev. Fr. Thomas Ponmelil                  
  3. Rev. Fr. Samuel Kattukallil (Samuel Mar Irenios)     
  4. Rt. Rev. Msgr. C. T. Kuruvila           
  5. Rev. Fr. Varghese Mavelil     
  6. Rev. Fr. Mathew Panjikkattil
  7. Rev. Fr. Antony Chethipuzha            
  8. Rev. Fr. Jose Charuvil            
  9. Rev. Fr. Jose Kizhakkedathu
  10. Rev. Fr. Thomas Kuzhinappurath      
  11. Rev. Fr. Bovas Mathew Meloott       
  12. Rev. Fr. James Paravila          
  13. Rev. Fr. Mathew Charivukalayil        
  14. Rev. Fr. Pratheesh George     
  15. Rev. Fr. Sheen Thankalayam
  16. Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Valiyachangeveettil    
  17. Rev. Fr. Anoop Thomas         
  18. Rev. Fr. Bosco Chalarackal   
  19. Rev. Fr. Philip Vettikkattil
  20. Rev. Fr. Varghese Thannikkakuzhy   


More Photos