Thazhamel    St. George SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Very Rev. Fr. Bovas Mathew   Meloottu

Ecl Dist : ANCHAL

Estd Year :1977

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. George Malankara Catholic Church, Thazhamel, Anchal P.O, Kollam Dt.- 691 306


Holy Mass timings                                          : Sunday          : 6.15 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Friday            : 6.30 pm

Year of Establishment                                    : 1977

Landed properties – Area                               : 75 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. George Shrine

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Nil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development


St.George Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Thazhamel in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Anchal. The First community of this Parish was formed in 1977. This Parish was established in 1977 and blessed by  Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. Rev.Fr.George Malancharuvil was the first vicar. A new church was built and blessed on April 1st 1977 by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios.

Former Vicars

  1. Rev. Fr. George Malancharuvil                                  
  2. Rev. Fr. Thomas Kottarathil                          
  3. Rev. Fr. Daniel Ayyaneth                              
  4. Rev. Fr. Pious OIC                            
  5. Rev. Fr. John Kannamkara                            
  6. Rev. Fr. Thomas Ponmelil                              
  7. Rev. Fr. Ninan Tharakan                                
  8. Rev. Fr. Cherian Mayikkal                             
  9. Rev. Fr. Daniel Kulangara                             
  10. Rev. Fr. Samuel Kattukallil                           
  11. Rev. Fr. Abraham Joseph                               
  12. Rev. Fr. John Thazhayil                                 
  13. Rev. Fr. Mathew Marottimoottil                               
  14. Rev. Fr. Varghese Naduthala                        
  15. Rev. Fr. Bovas Mathew         

More Photos