Thamalam    Sacred Heart SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Very Rev. Fr. Jose   Charuvil


Estd Year :1939

Contact :

Email :

Address :Sacred Heart Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Thamalam, Poojappura, TVM-695 012


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          : 6.00 am

                                                                          Other days    : 6.15 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      :

Year of Establishment                                    : 1939

Landed properties – Area                               : 66 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : MSC LP School

                                                                          St.Mary’s School

                                                                          SH Convent

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary Mother of God Shrine

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Rev. Fr. Michael Raj OIC

                                                                          Rev. Fr. Jose Mundaplavila

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Sr. Namitha SIC

History and Development

Sacred Heart Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Thamalam in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Trivandrum.  The first community of this parish was formed in 1939 by the mission work of the Franciscan Brothers. This church was established and blessed by the Servant of God Archbishop Mar Ivanios in 1939.  The new church was built during the year 1984-86 by Rev.Fr. Samuel Pallivathukkal.   It was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios.  The church was renovated by Rev. Fr. Santhan Charuvil in 2009 and blessed by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis. 

Former Vicars

1939-1945 - Rev. Fr. Koshy OIC                                      

1945-1948 - Rev. Fr. Kurian Elanjimattom                        

1948-1956 - Rev. Fr. Seraphion  OIC                                

                     Rev. Fr. Joshua  OIC                                     

1956-1960 - Rev. Fr. Lawrence Thottam                           

1960-1962 - Rev. Fr. John OIC                                         

1962-1967 - Rev. Fr. Raphael OIC                                    

1967-1970 - Rev. Fr. Zacharias Kuzhiparampil                 

1970-1972 - Rev. Fr. Thomas Mooleveettil                       

1972           - Rev. Fr. E. S. John                                         

1972-1975 - Rev. Fr. Augustin Viruppel                           

1975-1983 - Rev. Fr. Samuel Pallivathukkal                      

1983-1985 - Rev. Fr. Mathew Elanjickal                           

1985-1991 - Rev. Fr. Philip Chempakasseril                      

1991-1995 - Rev. Fr. Daniel Mangalath                             

1995            Rev. Fr. Maria Dasan                                     

1995-1998 - Rev. Fr. Kurian Valuparampil            

1998-2004 - Rev. Fr. Thomas Thekkedath                         

2004-2010 - Rev. Fr. Santhan Charuvil                             

2010-2014 - Rev. Fr. Johnson Kochuthundil                     

2014-2020   Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Valiyachangaveettil    


More Photos