Palayam    St. Mary Queen of Peace Basilica

catholic church

Vicar :Very Rev. Dr. John   Kuttiyil


Estd Year :1933

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary Queen of Peace Basilica, Palayam, University P.O, Trivandrum-695 034


Holy Mass Timing                                           :  Sunday         : 6.30 am, 5.30 pm

                                                                           Other days   : 6.15 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Wednesday   : 7.00 am Novena

                                                                          Saturday        : 5.30 pm Holy Adoration

                                                                         First Friday    : 9.30 am-3.00 pm Fasting Prayer

Year of Establishment                                    : 1933

Landed properties – Area                               :

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Bethany Convent & Hostel, Punnen Road

  DM Convent PMG

  SH Convent Palayam

  SH Convent Thekkummoodu

  Malankara Building Complex

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Shrine

                                                                          St. Jude Chapel, Rajaji Nagar

                                                                          Thycaud Chapel

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Rev. Fr. George Joshua Kanneeleth

                                                                          Rt. Rev. Msgr. George Panamthundil

                                                                          Rev. Fr. Thomas Babu Perupaikattu

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development

St. Mary Queen of Peace Basilica Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Palayam in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Trivandrum.  The first community of this parish was formed in1933 by the Servant of God Archbishop Mar Ivanios. It was the first Cathedral. It was called the Thakara palli. This Parish was created Basilica on13th October 2008 by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis. The Church was renovated and blessed by His Beatitude Mora Mor Baselios Cleemis Catholicos on 4th October 2019.

Former Vicars

1933-1948 - Rev. Fr. Joshua Thavalathil OIC -Late                      

1935-1937 - Rev. Fr. Joseph Ettamparampil –Late                        

1937-1944 - Rev. Fr. Koshy OIC –Late                                        

1944-1946 - Rev. Fr. Benedict Thangalathil OIC –Late               

         (Most Rev. Benedict Mar Gregorios )

1948-1950 - Rev. Fr. Zacharias Thomas Changankary-Late          

1950-1951 - Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Panicker           -Late               

1951-1954 - Rev. Fr.Geevarghese Thekkedath -Late                    

1951-1952 - Rev. Fr. Philip Pantholil –Late                                  

1952-1954 - Rev. Fr. Mathew Parackal –Late                               

1954-1956 - Rev. Fr. Daniel Ayyaneth -Late                                

                     Rev. Fr. Andrews OIC –Late                        

1956-1957 - Rev. Fr. John Elanjileth -Late                                    

                    Rev. Fr. George Kandathil -Late

1957-1959 - Rev. Fr. V. T. Thomas -Late                                      

1959-1967 - Rev. Fr. Mathai Malancharuvil -Late                         

                     Rev. Fr. Mathew Kadakampally –Assi. Vicar -Late 

1967-1971 - Rt. Rev. Samuel Mannil Remban-Late                      

1971-1977 - Rev. Fr. Mathew Thuruthayil Remban                      

1977-1992 - Rev. Fr. Joseph Njayalloor -Late                               

1992-1993 - Rt. Rev. Jose  Chamakalayil Cor episcopo                

1993-1995 - Rev. Fr. Boban Zackaria                                            

1995-2000 - Rev. Fr. Samuel Mar Irenios                                      

1993-2004 - Rev. Fr. Mathew Karoor                                            

                     Rev. Fr. John Thazhayil –Assi. Vicar

2004-2007 - Rev. Fr. Sebastian Kannamthanam                            

2007-2010 - Rev. Fr. Yohannan Mar Theodocius                          

2010-2016 - Rev. Fr. Santhan Charuvil                                         

2016-2020 -Rev. Fr. Jose Charuvil                                                

More Photos