Muttathara    St Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. George Mathew   KAROOR


Estd Year :1958

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Muttathara, Vallakadavu P.O., Trivandrum -695 008


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          : 7.00 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : First Saturday: 6.00 pm

Year of Establishment                                    : 1958

Landed properties – Area                               : 45 cents. 11 cents only have Pattayam

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Grotto

                                                                          Christ the King Shrine

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Nil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development

St. Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Muttathara in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Trivandrum.  The first community of this parish was formed in 1958 by Late Lawrence Mar Ephream and was functioning in a thatched church.  The first structure was built in 1999 by Rev. Fr. George Mathew Karoor. It was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. The St. Mary's shrine was built at the time of Rev. Fr. Anto Kannamkulam. The church and the shrine of Christ the King together with an Arch were built and renovated by Rev.Fr. John Vilayil and blessed by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis. 

Former Vicars

1958-1960 - Rev. Fr. Lawrence Thottam                                       

1960-1970 - Rev. Fr. Joseph Njayalloor                                         

1970-1975 - Rev. Fr. Samuel Mannil                                             

1975-1980 - Rev. Fr. Mathai Malancharuvil                                  

1980-1986 - Rev. Fr. Ommen Ayyaneth                                        

1986-1995 - Rev. Fr. Thomas Moolaveettil                                   

1995-1996 - Rev. Fr. Geevarghese Chediyath                               

1996-2000 - Rev. Fr. Mathew Karoor                                            

1997-2000 - Rev. Fr. John Padipurackal (Associate Pastor)               

2000-2004 - Rev. Fr. Tomy Thadathil                                            

2004-2008 - Rev. Fr. Thomas Kulangara                                       

2008-2010 - Rev. Fr. George Kalayil                                             

2010-2011 - Rev. Fr. Anto Kannamkulam                                     

2011-2012 - Rev. Fr. Roy George Vayalirakathu                          

2012-2013 - Rev. Fr. Jacob Olickal                                                

2013-2016 - Rev. Fr. John Vilayil                                                  

2016-2017 - Rev. Fr. Benedict Koodathumannil                           

2017-2020 - Rev. Fr. Mathai Kadavil OIC                                    

More Photos