Kattuvila    St. Joseph’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. Varghese   PLAVILAYIL


Estd Year :1964

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Joseph's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Kattuvila, Medical College P.O., Trivandrum- 11


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          : 8.30 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : 2nd & 4th Saturday

Year of Establishment                                    : 1964

Landed properties – Area                               : 18 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : Grotto of Holy Virgin Mary

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Nil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development

St. Joseph’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Kattuvila in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Trivandrum.  The first community of this parish was formed in 1937. This Parish was established in 1964 by the mission work Rt. Rev. Thomas Kumbukkatt Cor- Episcopa. It was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. The church was renovated in 1992 by Rev.Fr. John Kaocuthundil and blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. The second renovation was on 2015-16 by Rt. Rev. James Paravila Cor-Episcopa and blessed by His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis. 

Former Vicars

                      Rev. Fr. Lawrence Thottam               

                      Rev.Fr.  Thomas Kumbukattu                                   

                      Rev.Fr.  Thomas Kariyil                                 

                      Rev.Fr.  M. Philipose                         

                      Rev.Fr.  Lawrence (Bp Lawrence Mar Epream)                                

                      Rev.Fr.  Mathew Pallathumuriyil                               

                      Rev.Fr.  P. T. Thomas                        

                      Rev.Fr.  C. T. Kuruvila                                  

                      Rev.Fr.  George Mutheril                               

                      Rev.Fr.  Mathew Kadakampalli                                 

1986- 1989 - Rev.Fr.  John Padipurackal                                        

                      Rev.Fr.  John Kochuthundil                                      

                      Rev.Fr.  George Mathew Karoor                               

                      Rev.Fr.  Mathew Kompanal                          

                      Rev.Fr.  Roy George Vayalirakkathu                        

                      Rev.Fr.  Thomas Naikamparampil (Thomas Mar Eusebious)

2004- 2009 - Rev.Fr.  Thomas Panicker                                                                        

2009- 2014 - Rev.Fr.  Thomas Kuzhinappurathu                                              

                      Rev.Fr.  John Vilayil                          

                      Rev.Fr.  Christy John OIC                                         

2015- 2016 - Rev.Fr.  James Paravila Cor episcopo                             

2016-             Rev.Fr.  Varghese Plavilayil                                      


More Photos