Vilakkuvattom    St. Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. Thomas   Marottimoottil

Ecl Dist : PUNALUR

Estd Year :1950

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Vilakkuvattom P.O., Naithumukku, Punalur, Kollam Dt. 691 331


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          :6.30 am

Prayer service / Novena timings                      :


Year of Establishment                                    : 1950

Landed properties – Area                               : 100 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : Virgin Mary’s Grotto

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Rev. Fr. Jobin Jacob Karukayil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development

St. Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Vilakkuvattom in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Punalur. The first community of this parish was formed in 1950 by the mission work of Rev. Fr. Joseph Koithara and blessed by the Servant of God Archbishop Mar Ivanios. The new church was built on 1958 and was blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios. 

Former Vicars

  1. Rev. Fr. Thomas   
  2. Rev. Fr. Mathew  
  3. Rev. Fr. Joseph Vadakkekuttu                
  4. Rev. Fr. Joshua                
  5. Rev. Fr. Chirayathu                     
  6. Rev. Fr. Thomas Thekkedathu     
  7. Rev. Fr. Tharakan Ninan Anniyil
  8. Rev. Fr. John Thazhayil               
  9. Rev. Fr. K. V. John Marthandam
  10. Rev. Fr. Joseph Puthenkalam 
  11. Rev. Fr. Varkey Attupurathu             
  12. Rev. Fr. Johnson Charivukalayil                    
  13. Rev. Fr. Mathew Puthuparampil                    
  14. Rev. Fr. Jose Charuvil            
  15. Rev. Fr. Sam Paruvelil                       
  16. Rev. Fr. Alfred Thekkemuriyil          
  17. Rev. Fr. Alexander Koikaleth
  18. Rev. Fr. Augustin Pulimattath                       
  19. Rev. Fr. Alex Kalappila         
  20. Rev. Fr. Samuel Puthenpurayil          
  21. Rev. Fr. Mathew Marottimoottil       


More Photos