Vembayam    St. Mary’s SMCC

catholic church

Vicar :Rev. Fr. Daniel   Poovannathil


Estd Year :1934

Contact :

Email :

Address :St. Mary's Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Vembayam P.O., VPalamoodu, Trivandrum Dt. 695 615


Holy Mass Timing                                           : Sunday          : 10.00 am

                                                                          Wednesday    : 6.30 pm

Prayer service / Novena timings                      : Wednesday   : 7.30 pm

Year of Establishment                                    : 1934

Landed properties – Area                               : 60 cents

Institutions in Parish Jurisdiction                    : Nil

Shrines / Grottos with Name of Saint            : St. Mary’s Shrine

                                                                          St. Mary’s Grotto

Names of Priests ordained from the Parish    : Nil

Name of Sisters from the Parish                     : Nil

History and Development

St. Mary’s Malankara Syrian Catholic Church, Vembayam in the Major Archdiocese of Trivandrum belongs to the Ecclesiastical district of Nedumangadu. The first community of this parish was formed in 1934. This Parish was established by the Servant of God Archbishop Mar Ivanios on 16th March 1934.  This Parish was rebuilt blessed by Late Archbishop Benedict Mar Gregorios in 1980.

Former Vicars

  1. Rev. Fr. Joshua Chuttippara                                
  2. Rev. Fr. Chethattu Mathai Kathanar                               
  3. Rev. Fr. Benedict OIC                            
  4. Rev. Fr. Bersleeba OIC                           
  5. Rev. Fr. Theophilos OIC                         
  6. Rev. Fr. Andrews OIC                            
  7. Rev. Fr. Gabriel OIC                               
  8. Rev. Fr. Jacob OIC                                  
  9. Rev. Fr. Peter OIC                                   
  10. Rev. Fr. Bernard OIC                              
  11. Rev. Fr. Joshua OIC                                
  12. Rev. Fr. Philip OIC                                  
  13. Rev. Fr. John OIC                                   
  14. Rev. Fr. Santhosh OIC                            
  15. Rev. Fr. Sajeev Thomas OIC                               
  16. Rev. Fr. Gregorios OIC                           
  17. Rev. Fr. Daniel Kadakampally OIC                                
  18. Rev. Fr. Jacob Varghese OIC                              
  19. Rev. Fr. Dominic Savio OIC                               
  20. Rev. Fr. Thomas Maraveli OIC                           
  21. Rev. Fr. Joseph Kalavila                          
  22. Rev. Fr. Thomas Puthuparampil                          
  23. Rev. Fr. Sebastian Ambassery                             
  24. Rev. Fr. John Kalluvila                            
  25. Rev. Fr. James Paravila                            
  26. Rev. Fr. Roy George Vayalirakkath                                
  27. Rev. Fr. Koshy Chirakkarottu                             
  28. Rev. Fr. Jolly Philip Karimpil                              
  29. Rev. Fr. Johnson Kochuthundil                           
  30. Rev. Fr. Wilson Thattaruthundil                          

More Photos